Recommended For You
triumph green lounge chair
pony peacock chair
drommen queen bed
specs chair
alba credenza

Prices and availability are subject to change from the time and date that you print this page.
11/25/2014 11:24:20 PM. For Customer Service, please call 800.606.6252

1938 tobacco leather butterfly chair

1938 tobacco leather butterfly chair
Fullscreen Zoom In / Zoom Out Zoom
  • 1938ChairF11
  • 1938leatherbutterflychrFC12
  • 1938leatherchairpabloHD11
  • parlourchairzemistoolJN13
  • 1938leatherbutterflychrJN14
  • 1938ChairAV2F11
  • 1938ChairSdF11
  • utilitypendantlampSC12
  • 1938ChairAV1F11
  • ciudadsofadiagonalgridJL14
  • 1938ChairAV3F11

SKU: 185649

$399.00

Delivery In stock and ready for delivery to ZIP code  

overview

year of the butterfly. Inspired by the original "198 Hardoy Chair" (aka "Butterfly") designed in 1938. Who knew? It had a natural leather hide sling and not the ubiquitous fabrics on collapsible hairpin frames. Our butterfly is the monarch, ruling again in iconic style. Top-grain, full-aniline, vegetable-tanned leather hides hand-stitched in quadrants and hand-laced at the edges read pure vintage with a warm, natural saddle glow. Rich grain and inherent markings enhance the natural beauty and character of the hide, left un-dyed and protected with a water-based lacquer. Displayed in all its glory on a substantial tubular iron frame antiqued light zinc (it doesn't fold…it's here to stay). Super easy assembly, no hardware required. We like four in a conversation circle.

Part of the 1938 leather butterfly chair Collection

Details and Dimensions

Assembly

Return/Exchange Policy

 

1938 tobacco leather butterfly chair is rated 3.381 out of 5 by 21.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great chair and timeless purchase I bought this chair 8 months ago for my son as a great transitional item that was aesthetics pleasing, durable and fun!
Date published: 2014-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A piece of art This chair is everything! Its beautiful, sexy, comfortable, elegant, modern... Simply irresistible. If I could only afford it...
Date published: 2014-07-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks great, nice chair, no problems. After nearly a year I can write a positive review of this chair. The pair we received look exactly like the photos. The leather seems of decent quality and the color is nice. They only get light use but honestly this isn't the type of chair I'd get if I planned to sit in a chair for 3 hrs every night...I consider it more of an accent piece. Nice chair for the money and looks great!
Date published: 2014-07-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Stitching Opened Poor quality of stitching as stitching done at very edge and ripped leather in 1 year given that chair used as accent and only sat on it on a number of occassions. Size of leather cover does not seem standard as there are replacement covers available on the internet but do not fit.
Date published: 2014-03-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Chair broken in just two months I bought this chair about two months ago. The chair looks great and I placed it in our solar room which we don't use regularly. However, the chair somehow got broken right on the side where the tubes connect one another. I called CB2 and they will replace the chair...I hope it doesn't happen again! My 2 stars go to CB2 services more than to the chair which is way too expensive for the quality. I love CB2 furniture but starting today I will be more aware of the quality of their furniture considering their high prices.
Date published: 2013-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Worst purchase ever Loved the look of this chair but the quality is shocking -a year after owning it this chair gets used only by the cat and my husband who weighs around 175lb the stitching has ripped on the seat. Should there be a weight limit?? This chair is not worth $400!!!!
Date published: 2013-07-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stylish, comfy chair I bought this chair as an accent piece to help blend in with my current room decor. It is very comfortable and easy to assemble. My only complaint is that there are 5 small discolored spots on the leather. They are not visible from a distance, but I was a little disappointed as I expected the product to be in perfect, new condition. If I had the time, I would've exchanged it, but it's too much of a hassle. Otherwise, I am very happy with this chair.
Date published: 2013-03-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fabulous chair We have had the butterfly chair for about one week now and love it. It looks fabulous and is very comfortable. The only downside is that it has a rather strong fishlike smell, probably from the products used for treating the leather. We hope the smell will go away after a while. This should not detract you from buying this piece of furniture that instantly adds character to any interior.
Date published: 2013-01-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from don't do it I thought this chair was so cute and loved the color BUT ignored the other bad reviews. Don't do it. I work in design and the color is NOT as pretty as shown online. Online it's a pretty pumpkin/brown color but in reality it's a pukey dull orangey brown color. But worse, the leather seat arrived with discolarations, spots and tears/dings so I had to have a new chair shipped and swapped out. What a pain in the neck. But CB2 did reimburse me for my original shipping charge.
Date published: 2012-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "butterfly chair" we bought this chair for about $25. In 1950, when we first were married. I never knew it by the name "butterfly" chair. It was called the "SLING CHAIR" a name, it seems to me more fitting and appropriate. We loved this Chair and had many years of enjoyment from it.I recommend it highly, especially for it's versatility.
Date published: 2012-09-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Room for improvement Now that I have the chair in my possession, I believe what others are referring to is the quality of the leather. Even at close inspection, the top layer does not look like leather, but rather like vinyl, which is likely (I sure hope!) caused by the waterproof coating. Because of this, I do feel that the price for this item should be reduced. From a pure design stand point, it is a good piece; just wish the leather quality matched the design.
Date published: 2012-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from overall what I wanted and expected for the price---the plastic floor tips on the bottom of each leg all broke off within a few days and i wish they had not as they served a good purpose and now I will have to rig something else
Date published: 2012-08-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It's okay This chair is underwhelming. Perhaps I should have looked more closely at the measurements, but it's smaller than I expected. I think it would be ok at a slightly larger scale. But at its current scale, it's a bit rinky dink. Maybe it would work well in a small studio space.
Date published: 2012-08-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good chair I bought 2 of these chairs for my office.The pros: they are very comfortable and sturdy.The cons: whereas the metal frame goes well in my industrial office space, I was slightly disappointed in the frame quality. The leather is darker than pictured with a few imperfections.
Date published: 2012-07-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Meh. But I'm keeping it. I received 2 of these chairs in the tobacco leather. Both leather seats came out of the bag with a dirty powder (dust? Something that degraded from the packing bag?) all over it. I used a damp cloth to wipe it until it looked cleaner. The finish on the leather looks dull and somewhat dingy. I'm shocked there weren't more negative reviews, because I don't consider myself to be particularly picky. I will keep the chair, but I'm going to purchase a high-quality leather conditioner that's designed for either horse saddles or automotive interiors. Perhaps something with some lanolin in it. There is no way I could make this chair look worse. BTW, I disagree with the review that the chair is darker than pictured. It looks exactly the color on my monitor.
Date published: 2012-07-11